Baked malt - just make it yourself

Baked malt - simply make it yourself

Today I have a new basic recipe for you: Homemade baking malt. I've been doing this myself for a long time (at the beginning after this recipe). Very often I am asked about my recipes whether you can omit the baking malt or what it is and why enzyme-active baking malt is not suitable for longer dough processing. That is why I would like to go into this briefly at this point.

Baked malt is used to bake bread and rolls. It can be in enzyme active and enzyme-inactive baking malt can be distinguished and it is usually offered in powder form. But there is also syrupy, active barley malt as well as liquid / syrupy, inactive barley malt (e.g. from Arche in organic or natural food stores or here*). (active baking malt = enzyme active = diastatic / inactive baking malt = enzyme inactive = adiastatic)

It consists of germinated, dried and possibly roasted grain (e.g. wheat, barley or rye). Of course you can use enzyminActive baking malt can also be bought ready-made, but it is very easy to make yourself and much cheaper than bought-in. Baked malt is usually made from barley. Sometimes there is also dark colored or roasted malt to buy, which then often consists of rye. I usually make my homemade baking malt from wheat grains and usually prepare it with 250g grains. You can of course take more or less, but the amount will fit perfectly on a deep baking sheet (or a large oven wizard) later when drying and roasting.

“The addition of baking malt to the dough provides the yeast with easily usable nutrients, including sugar and amino acids. The aim is to accelerate fermentation (improve the driving force) and improve the quality of the dough. " (Source: Wikipedia)

Inactive baking malt can be made by germinating grains and then drying, roasting and grinding them. During this process, the natural enzymes die from the heat. This baking malt is therefore not enzyme-active and therefore well suited for very long walking times, such as overnight cooking. Inactive baking malt provides the yeast in the dough with easily usable nutrients, such as (malt) sugar and amino acids that were created during germination. This can improve the oven shoot, taste and crispness. A little sugar, honey or syrup is in principle also food for the yeast cultures in the dough, but is still not a real substitute for baking malt. With my root buns (Recipe here) I used my homemade baking malt, for example.

Enzyme-active baking malt In addition to malt sugar, it also contains amylases (enzymes) which break down the starch in the flour into sugar (= yeast food). It is useful because of this starch breakdown not for long dough processing. It is usually used for bread with a rather high proportion of wheat or spelled. In the case of rye bread (with predominantly rye flour) the addition of active baking malt makes no sense, since rye is naturally quite rich in enzymes and the addition would be counterproductive. (Rye flour must therefore also be “acidified”, for example with sourdough.) Enzyme-active baking malt must be used very sparingly and is not suitable for longer dough processing, such as overnight cooking. By the way, I get my powdered, enzyme-active baking malt here in organic quality *without any additives.

Print

BAKING MALT

 piece

Ingredients

  • 250 g Wheat, rye or barley, if possible, in organic quality
  • water
  • a bowl is best not transparent
  • a sieve

STEP 1: GRAIN THE GRAIN

  1. Rinse the cereal grains well with water in a sieve.
  2. Leave the grains in the sieve and place in a bowl. Then fill up with water until the grains are well covered. Cover loosely with a lid or something similar (kitchen towel is also possible) and let stand for about 12 hours.
  3. After about 12 hours, rinse the grains thoroughly, let them drip off a little and place them back in the bowl with the sieve, this time without additional water! Let stand for another 12 hours.
  4. You repeat this process for about 2 to a maximum of 3 days until the grains have properly sprouted. (So just rinse well every 12 hours.)
  5. When the grains have visibly sprouted (see picture), they are ready and can be dried and roasted. However, the seedlings should NOT turn green! Then they sprouted too long.

STEP 2: DRY AND TOAST THE SPROUTED GRAIN

  1. Drying: Spread the sprouted cereal grains on a baking sheet lined with baking paper or on a large oven wizard. (I like to spread the moist cereal grains on two layers of kitchen towels beforehand so that they dry off a bit.)
  2. Heat the oven to around 60 ° C hot air (otherwise 70 ° C upper-lower heat) and let the germinated cereal grains dry in it for about an hour.
  3. With older ovens, it is best to clamp a wooden spoon in the door so that the excess moisture can escape. Some (modern) ovens also have a function for reducing moisture (for example for drying), which I call the “crisp function”. I also use this for drying the grains.
  4. It is best to stir the grains occasionally while drying so that they can dry evenly.
  5. Roasting: After drying, the grains are roasted at around 150 ° C hot air (alternatively upper-lower heat at 170 ° C) for about 30 minutes.
  6. When they look golden brown and have a slightly malty odor, you're done.
  7. Please make sure again that they are really completely dry, otherwise just leave them in the oven for a few minutes longer.

STEP 3: FINISHING / GRINDING

  1. The cooled grains are now finely ground. You can do this in a flour mill, a powerful mixer or in the Thermomix (for 1 min./h 10).
  2. The finished baking malt should be packed airtight and stored in a dry place.

4 thoughts on “Backmalz – einfach selber herstellen”

  1. Hello Sonja,
    I have a question about the active baking malt that I have at home as a powder. Would it be possible to heat the powder in the pan or in the oven above 80 degrees to make it inactive? I hardly have any use for the active one.
    LG Heike

    1. Dear Heike,

      Yes, you can do that. I would spread it on a tray and put it in the oven after one baking process and roast it slightly, then you still have some aroma. It will certainly burn very quickly in the pan.

      Many greetings,
      Sonja

      1. Hello, I have a question: what is the roasting temperature limit for active/inactive malt? Thanks for your answer 😊

        1. Hi there,
          I don't think I would go over 180 degrees, rather a little less. Otherwise the grains will burn too quickly.

          Best regards,
          Sonja

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recipe rating

The maximum upload file size: 200 MB. You can upload: image, audio, video, document, spreadsheet, interactive, other. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop files here

en_USEnglish

Backmalz – einfach selber herstellen

Backmalz – einfach selbst herstellen

Heute habe ich für euch ein neues Basic-Rezept: Selbstgemachtes Backmalz. Dies mache ich schon seit längerer Zeit selbst (zu Beginn nach diesem Rezept). Wirklich sehr oft werde ich zu meinen Rezepten gefragt, ob man das Backmalz weglassen kann oder was das ist und warum enzymaktives Backmalz nicht bei längerer Teigführung geeignet ist. Deshalb möchte ich an dieser Stelle kurz darauf eingehen.

Backmalz wird zum Backen von Brot und Brötchen verwendet. Es kann dabei in enzymaktives und enzyminaktives Backmalz unterschieden werden und es wird meist pulverförmig angeboten. Es gibt aber auch sirupartiges, aktives Gerstenmalz sowie flüssiges/ sirupartiges, inaktives Gerstenmalz (z.B. von Arche im Bio- oder Naturkostladen oder hier*). (aktives Backmalz = enzymaktiv = diastatisch / inaktives Backmalz= enzyminaktiv = adiastatisch)

Es besteht aus gekeimten, getrockneten und gegebenenfalls gerösteten Getreide (z.B. Weizen, Gerste oder Roggen). Natürlich kann man enzyminaktives Backmalz auch fertig kaufen, aber es ist ganz einfach selbst herzustellen und wesentlich preiswerter als gekauftes. Gekauftes Backmalz besteht meist aus Gerste. Manchmal gibt es auch dunkles Farb- bzw. Röstmalz zu kaufen, dass dann oft aus Roggen besteht. Ich mache mein selbstgemachtes Backmalz in der Regel aus Weizenkörnern und bereite es meist mit 250g Getreidekörner zu. Ihr könnt natürlich auch mehr oder weniger nehmen, aber die Menge passt später beim Trocknen und Rösten prima auf ein tiefes Backblech (oder einen großen Ofenzauberer).

“Durch den Zusatz von Backmalz zum Teig werden der Hefe leicht verwertbare Nährstoffe, u. a. Zucker und Aminosäuren zur Verfügung gestellt. Das Ziel ist eine Beschleunigung der Gärung (Verbesserung der Triebkraft) und eine bessere Teigbeschaffenheit.” (Quelle: Wikipedia)

Inaktives Backmalz kann selbst hergestellt werden, indem Getreide zum Keimen gebracht und danach getrocknet und geröstet sowie vermahlen wird. Bei diesem Vorgang sterben die natürlichen Enzyme durch die Hitze ab. Dieses Backmalz ist also nicht enzymaktiv und daher für sehr lange Gehzeiten, wie die Übernachtgare gut geeignet. Inaktives Backmalz liefert den Hefen im Teig leicht verwertbare Nährstoffe, wie (Malz-) Zucker und Aminosäuren, die während der Keimung entstanden sind. Dadurch können Ofentrieb, Geschmack und Knusprigkeit verbessert werden. Etwas Zucker, Honig oder Sirup ist im Prinzip zwar auch Nahrung für die Hefekulturen im Teig, aber dennoch kein richtiger Ersatz für Backmalz. Bei meinen Wurzelbrötchen (Rezept hier) habe ich zum Beispiel mein selbstgemachtes Backmalz eingesetzt.

Enzymaktives Backmalz enthält neben Malzzucker auch Amylasen (Enzyme), welche die Stärke des Mehls in Zucker spalten (=Hefenahrung). Es eignet sich wegen diesem Abbau der Stärke nicht für die lange Teigführung. Es wird in der Regel für Brote mit eher hohem Weizen- oder Dinkelanteil verwendet. Bei Roggenbrot (mit überwiegend Roggenmehl) macht die Zugabe von aktivem Backmalz keinen Sinn, da Roggen von Natur aus schon ziemlich enzymreich ist und die Zugabe wäre quasi kontraproduktiv. (Roggenmehl muss deshalb auch “versäuert” werden, zum Beispiel durch Sauerteig.) Enzymaktives Backmalz muss sehr sparsam eingesetzt werden und ist nicht bei längerer Teigführung, wie der Übernachtgare geeignet. Mein pulverisiertes, enzymaktives Backmalz beziehe ich übrigens hier in Bio-Qualität*, ganz ohne Zusatzstoffe.

Rezept drucken

BACKMALZ

 Stück

Zutaten

  • 250 g Weizen, Roggen oder Gerste möglichst in Bio-Qualität
  • Wasser
  • eine Schüssel am besten nicht durchsichtig
  • ein Sieb

1. SCHRITT: DAS GETREIDE KEIMEN LASSEN

  1. Getreidekörner in einem Sieb mit Wasser gut durchspülen.
  2. Die Getreidekörner im Sieb lassen und in eine Schüssel stellen. Anschließend mit Wasser auffüllen, bis die Körner gut bedeckt sind. Locker mit einem Deckel o. ä. abdecken (Küchentuch geht auch) und etwa 12 Stunden so stehen lassen.
  3. Die Getreidekörner nach etwa 12 Stunden gut durchspülen, etwas abtropfen lassen und wieder mit dem Sieb in die Schüssel stellen, diesmal ohne zusätzliches Wasser! Für weitere 12 Stunden stehen lassen.
  4. Diesen Vorgang wiederholt ihr nun für etwa 2 bis maximal 3 Tage, bis die Getreidekörner ordentlich gekeimt haben. (Also einfach alle 12 Stunde gut durch spülen.)
  5. Wenn die Getreidekörner sichtbar gekeimt haben (siehe Bild), sind sie soweit und können getrocknet und geröstet werden. Die Keimlinge sollten allerdings NICHT grünlich werden! Dann haben sie zu lange gekeimt.

2. SCHRITT: DAS GEKEIMTE GETREIDE TROCKEN UND RÖSTEN

  1. Trocknen: Die gekeimten Getreidekörner auf ein mit Backpapier belegtes Backblech oder einen großen Ofenzauberer verteilen. (Ich verteile die feuchten Getreidekörner gerne vorher noch auf zwei Lagen Küchentücher, damit sie schon mal etwas abtrocknen.)
  2. Den Backofen auf etwa 60 °C Heißluft (sonst 70°C Ober-Unter-Hitze) aufheizen und die gekeimten Getreidekörner für etwa eine Stunde darin trocknen lassen.
  3. Bei älteren Backöfen am besten einen Kochlöffel in die Tür klemmen, damit die überschüssige Feuchtigkeit entweichen kann. Manche (modernen) Backöfen haben auch eine Funktion zur Feuchtigkeits-Reduktion (zum Beispiel zum Dörren), bei mir heißt sie “Crisp-Funktion”. Ich nutze diese zusätzlich für das Trocknen der Getreidekörner.
  4. Am besten rührt ihr die Getreide Körner beim trocknen ab und zu mal um, damit sie gleichmäßig trocknen können.
  5. Anrösten: Nach dem Trocknen werden die Getreidekörner bei etwa 150°C Heißluft (alternativ Ober-Unter-Hitze mit 170°C) für ungefähr 30 Minuten angeröstet.
  6. Wenn sie gold-braun aussehen und einen leicht malzigen Geruch haben, sind sie fertig.
  7. Vergewissert euch bitte nochmal, ob sie wirklich komplett durchgetrocknet sind, ansonsten einfach noch ein paar Minuten länger im Ofen lassen.

3. SCHRITT: FERTIGSTELLUNG / MAHLEN

  1. Die abgekühlten Getreidekörner werden nun fein gemahlen. Dies könnt ihr in einer Getreidemühle, einem leistungsstarken Mixer oder im Thermomix (für 1 Min./ St. 10) erledigen.
  2. Das fertige Backmalz sollte luftdicht verpackt und trocken aufbewahrt werden.

4 Kommentare zu „Backmalz – einfach selber herstellen“

  1. Hallo Sonja,
    ich hätte eine Frage zum aktiven Backmalz, das ich als Pulver zu Hause habe. Wäre es möglich das Pulver in der Pfanne oder im Ofen über 80 Grad zu erhitzen um es inaktiv zu machen? Ich habe für das aktive kaum Verwendung.
    LG Heike

    1. Liebe Heike,

      ja das kannst du machen. Ich würde es auf ein Blech verteilen und nach einem Backvorgang in den Ofen schieben und auf Sicht leicht rösten, dann hast du gleich noch etwas Aroma. In der Pfanne verbrennt es sicher sehr schnell.

      Viele Grüße,
      Sonja

      1. Hallo, ich habe eine Frage: Welche Temperaturgrenze beim Rösten für aktives/inaktives Malz? Danke für deine Antwort 😊

        1. Hallo,
          ich denke über 180 Grade würde ich nicht gehen, eher etwas weniger. Sonst verbrennen die Körner zu schnell.

          Viel Grüße,
          Sonja

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Recipe rating

The maximum upload file size: 200 MB. You can upload: image, audio, video, document, spreadsheet, interactive, other. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop files here